Real housewife getting framed

So i’ll admit a guilty pleasure. I love Real Housewives. Whether that’s Real Housewives of New York, Orange County, Beverly Hills or whatever. I love it! I love the fashion, the apartments, the shenanigans and of course, I love any hint of a wedding.  On the season premier of the Beverly Hills housewives, I caught a glimpse of something that I had to go back and watch again. Blink, and I would have missed it so I re wound and watched again.

One of the things I love about the show is the size of the closet (yes, walk in wardrobe definitely has the envious factor) and the rails of clothes and shoes contained in them. What I wasn’t expecting to see was a fabulous wedding gown framed and hung on the wall. Now, I’ve heard of ‘Cherish The Dress’, good friend Chris Hanley, photographer of Tuscany is the creator of this genre of photography and I’ve heard of Trash The dress (nothing to do with Chris) and of which isn’t among my favourite things to do with the most significant gown you are ever likely to wear, but never framing it.

If you’re not really sure of what to do with your wedding gown after the big day, what options have you got? Box it? Sell it? Dye it to wear again? Have it made in to a christening gown? Again, not sure I would ever take scissors to my beloved gown. It hangs in my wardrobe as  the window to the most important day of my life.

  I Googled “What to do with my wedding dress” and most of the above came up, but it seems not many people have heard of framing it.

Real Housewife, Adrienne Maloof did just that however and tweeted it.

The idea of getting more for your money and immortalizing your gown behind glass means an original and unique piece of art for your room and most definitely a statement piece in your home.

There is another option. Displaying your gown on a dressmakers dummy. However, if you’ve ever experienced making a ‘visit’ in the dark and coming face to face with the Woman in White like I have on many occasion in the past, I wouldn’t recommend it. Apart from getting the fright of your life on a regular occasion, it can get a little dusty!

 What to do with my wedding dress.

Anyone frame a wedding dress?

Kate Middleton’s wedding gown on display

One thought on “Real housewife getting framed

Leave a Reply

